Potato award nominations sought

Potato award nominations sought

It is again time to honor a well-deserving member of the potato growing community by nominating them for the Potato Man or Woman of the Year or Potato Man or Woman for All Seasons.

The awards are sponsored by THE PACKER in conjunction with the National Potato Council.

The 2019 award winner will be announced at the council’s annual banquet, Jan. 16, in Las Vegas, Nev.

The Potato Man/Woman of the Year recognizes an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty during 2019 to further the potato industry. Past winners include Chris Voigt of the Washington State Potato Commission and Justin Dagen, former NPC president.

Award winners have devoted a significant amount of time promoting potatoes to consumers and representing the industry on trade missions and in front of regulatory agencies.

The Potato Man for All Seasons is a lifetime achievement award that recognizes individuals who during their career in the potato industry have given freely of their time and energy to improve the well-being of the potato industry.

Last year, long-time National Potato Council CEO John Keeling was awarded The Packer’s 2018 Potato Man for All Seasons at the group’s annual banquet on Jan. 11 in Austin, Texas.

A nomination form is available online or by sending an e-mail request to [email protected]

The deadline to submit nominations is Dec. 10. E-mail nomination forms to Tom Karst, Editor of THE PACKER, at [email protected] or mail the completed forms to Tom Karst at The Packer, 8725 Rosehill Rd, Ste 200, Lenexa, KS 66215.


Related articles

Keeling honored as Potato Man for All Seasons

New York leader honored as 2017 Potato Woman for All Seasons